…And I Think To Myself…What a Wonderful World!   1 comment

http://www.youtube.com/embed/auSo1MyWf8g?rel=0

Do yourself a BIG favor and spend 2 minutes to view this video! You will thank me!

What A Wonderful World With David Attenborough

About a year ago I received a BBC video link from a great friend. The title of the email was “AMAZING VIDEO”. I’m embarrassed to say I didn’t view it at that time. It wasn’t until a few days ago that I was clearing out old emails that I have long since needed to delete that I came across this video. It is without a doubt one of the most touching and AMAZING videos I have ever seen! It is set to the music “What A Wonderful World” but actually the lyrics are read not sung by Sir David Attenborough. This song is one of the most beloved songs of all times. Maybe not of this generation, but certainly of mine and my parents before me. Gen X may not know who Louis Armstrong is because he was almost sixty-seven years old in 1968 – the OLDEST male to top the charts in the UK that year! As a matter of fact the sources I read said that his song “What a wonderful world” was the biggest selling single of 1968 in the United Kingdom. Having been only 13 years old in 1968, I do remember vividly the state of unsettled race relations that our country was experiencing at the time. Martin Luther King was assassinated in the city where I call home currently (Memphis) and the ensuing riots that followed. I remember the unsettling feeling that I had but at that young age could not actually put my finger on why all the chaos was all around me. I have read that this song was made as an antidote for these racially and politically charged times of 1968 America.

What a Wonderful World

What a Wonderful World is a song by Bob Thiele (using the pseudonym George Douglas) and George David Weiss. This song was written specifically for Armstrong who possessed great cross-over appeal. It was first recorded by Louis Armstrong and released as a single in 1968, and was inducted in the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1999. The song details the singer’s delight in the simple enjoyment of everyday life. The song also has a hopeful, optimistic tone with regard to the future. No one knew at the time just how long it would be before the race relations would get on an even keel. Even Louis Armstrong could not have predicted that perhaps.

louis-armstrong_vert-1a1812a376781c8408d555cc869b0a40263a9b28-s6-c30Bio info:Louis Armstrong  (August 4, 1901 – July 6, 1971), nicknamed Satchmo or Pops, was an American jazz trumpeter and singer from New Orleans, Louisiana.

To view his original version on YouTube, click the link below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2VCwBzGdPM

Pingback:

http://saraleesimpson.wordpress.com/2012/02/11/song-case-study-louis-armstrong-what-a-wonderful-world/

Information from:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louis_Armstrong#Armstrong_and_race

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/What_a_Wonderful_World

http://www.bbc.co.uk/1xtra/bhm05/years/1968.shtml

Lyrics to: “What A Wonderful World”

I see trees of green,
red roses too.
I see them bloom,
for me and you.
And I think to myself,
what a wonderful world.I see skies of blue,
And clouds of white.
The bright blessed day,
The dark sacred night.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.The colors of the rainbow,
So pretty in the sky.
Are also on the faces,
Of people going by,
I see friends shaking hands.
Saying, “How do you do?”
They’re really saying,
“I love you”.

I hear babies cry,
I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more,
Than I’ll ever know.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

Yes, I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

Oh yeah.

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/louisarmstrong/whatawonderfulworld.html
One response to “…And I Think To Myself…What a Wonderful World!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for sharing. It’s a Wonderful Life has always been one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

