Where were you on 9-11-2001? Ten years in retrospect.   7 comments

Two years have come and gone since I first posted this article. I have a deep feeling of sadness today on this anniversary and wish to honor the memory of those who died on that tragic September morning now 12 years ago. God will find a way to use each life lost as a testimony. Long live their memories and legacies.

There is so little left unsaid regarding the tragic events of 9-11-01… But I feel that my heart still weeps and wants to be heard. As I watch this video that is a daughter’s tribute to her father lost on that day, I cry for her and for the times of her life that he missed. It is touching and sweet. I too lost my father this year and can certainly identify with a daughter’s pain and the immense loss (https://dsgnmomonline.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/holding-daddys-hand-forever/). But this loss was so diverse… so widespread. It was personal for so many yet so public. The morning of September 11. 2001 I lived in Northern California and woke abruptly as if someone was shaking me…but I was alone. My mind said “turn on the TV!” Almost like a scream in my head. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I watched as the second tower imploded. It was as if I was watching a movie instead of a live feed on the morning news! I was paralyzed with grief… for the people involved, for our brave firefighters and police and really for our country. Was this deliberate? What was next? Who would be the next target? I quickly called my daughter who was in college in San Diego. Admittedly she let the phone ring many times before she answered it…. she knew it was just “Mother”…. what now Mom? She said I “always” called. That morning was different. I told her quickly “turn on the news”…. She was a horrified as I was to see what was unfolding. In retrospect… I’m sure there are many 20 year olds that wish their parents could have called them that morning! We share a deep bond regarding the events of that day and talk about how it changed us.

I walked around in a daze for days. Unable to put the events into anything that I could get my head around. So senseless. So tragic. I was left with a feeling of helplessness like I am sure so many fellow Americans were. And ten years later I really am not sure I have yet come to grips with the enormity of it all. I still cry when I see the images and the touching tributes. Just last night I watched the movie “Remember Me” and wept. Please take time to watch this movie… then go and hug your kids and tell them you love them! We have today…and tomorrow is not promised. If the events of September 11, 2001 taught us anything… it taught us that one fact!

7 responses to “Where were you on 9-11-2001? Ten years in retrospect.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful Mom, I feel the same way you do. I am so blessed that I have you in my life and you touch many people with your words. I enjoyed watching that movie with you too… love always, alissa

  2. Pingback: September 11 Through My Eyes #911whereIwas — Maneland Media

  3. Love this! I too avoided my moms calls that morning, wanting to sleep in not get a list of chores from her-so I thought that’s why she’d been calling. I woke up to turn on the tv and see the second tower being hit. I didn’t leave the house all day, just sat, watched and cried. Apologized to mom when she got home,and even slept in bed with her that night for fear we wouldn’t see a tomorrow.

  4. So true, tomorrow is NOT promised. All the more reason to tell those you love how you feel each day and to take those risks you would otherwise put off for the future…

  5. Pingback: Where were you on 9-11-2001? Ten years in retrospect. | Kids say :

  6. Pingback: I beat the eggs and I whip the cream, but the onion always makes me cry. | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

