What’s your Roadblock? ….take a DETOUR!   4 comments

 

“For every failure, there’s an alternative course of action. You just have to find it.

When you come to a roadblock, take a detour!”

Mary Kay Ash, Founder of Mary Kay Cosmetics

 

My granddaughter, who just turned two last month, loves Caillou! He is a little perpetual 4-year-old cartoon character that is featured on the popular kids channel “Sprout”. Recently as I watched one episode with her, I noticed that he was discussing roadblocks and detours with his Mommy. She said the tree had blown down in the storm and that they had to make a “detour”. Caillou was curious as to what a detour actually is… and his Mom explained that it is a path that you take when you have to go around something. That got me thinking about how we as adults need to often take a detour in life.

We should ask ourselves “Is what I am doing getting me where I need to go?” If not, a detour may be in order!

We look at “failures” that come along… a loss of a job, a friendship, a partner or a parent…and we should ask ourselves “Is it time for a detour?”.

I viewed an excellent video this morning of Steve Jobs, Co-Founder of Apple, as he made the  2005 Stanford commencement address. His passing this week was a reminder of the fact that “failures” in our lives are often the BEST things that happen to us as they force the detours that lead us to be better people.

I encourage you to watch this video. It is 15 minutes well spent! After watching… ask yourself “What’s my excuse?”. I did!

Rest In Peace Steve!

Thank you for your inspiration and your ability to view failures as a porthole to something bigger!

I suppose I have given more questions here than answers… but truly the answers lie within each of us. Often the answers are buried deep and take a lifetime to surface. Sometime they never do and people die without realizing their full potential. I hope that one thing I say here in my blog sparks a question in you and encourages you to dig deeper to find that which makes you happy! That is my wish for each of you. Thank you for reading and following.

Related articles:

What are the roadblocks to success? (maggielr.wordpress.com)

http://angelairvin.wordpress.com/2011/02/06/roadblocks/

http://www.motifake.com/81013

http://www.marykaytribute.com/default.aspx

4 responses to “What’s your Roadblock? ….take a DETOUR!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That was the first time I had watched that video of Steve Jobs. What a good guy! I’m asking myself, what’s my excuse? No excuse at all!

  2. Pingback: Road Map to Success – Detour! | Mike Nelson Online

  3. I definitely feel like detours/ failures in our life make us a stronger person and they all experiences that we learn from. Great blog!

Leave a Reply

