Attitude of Gratitude! Do you have it?   3 comments

 

Do you have an “Attitude of Gratitude”? I must say I really do try to have it everyday…some days I succeed and some days I fall short. After all, life has a way of beating you down. What I have found is that when you least expect it, you will be reminded that there is so much goodness to be thankful for! For example, I was researching my ideas for this post and I came across a photo that I wanted to use. It reminds me of how thankful I am for God’s gift of the beauty of nature.

http://www.poemsbycc.com/SeasonalHoliday.html 

It is a beautiful Fall scene with leaves blazing in color! As I clicked on it I found myself in a blog of poems. Then the music starts… it is a piano rendition of “How Great Thou Art”. Immediately my eyes filled with tears as I sang the words that I had memorized as a little girl as I listened to countless times that my Mother practiced that song. She was a gifted soprano soloist at her many church homes throughout her life. Her voice filled my head with the melody and the precious words to that song. Even though Mother has been gone from this earthly home for more than 25 years, (https://dsgnmomonline.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/its-been-25-years-today-mom-i-still-miss-you/) my memory helped me fill in the blanks and I found myself deep in the Attitude of Gratitude! Grateful for a Mother’s love. Grateful for the many years of patient child rearing that she devoted to our family. Grateful that she had that amazing voice and was willing to share it with her congregation. This left an emblazoned etch on my mind and my heart. “How Great Thou Art”. Indeed, “How Great Thou Art”.

There has been much written on this subject but most theories closely relate The Attitude of Gratitude to the Law of Attraction. Simply stated “whatever you think about the most, your dominate thoughts, have to manifest themselves into your life… good or bad”. I totally believe in this theory. I watch it happen daily in the lives of those around me as well as my own.

“You are a living magnet, you invariably attract into your life the people, situations and circumstances that are in harmony with your dominant thoughts.”  Brian Tracy

http://the-law-of-attraction-in-action.blogspot.com/2007/06/brian-tracy-speaks-about-law-of.html

I wanted to share with my readers something I witnessed a few days ago. As I was driving, there was a very young mother (maybe late teens) carrying twin boys across the street in busy traffic…not at the light or cross-walk… thru the traffic. The boys were twins, identical it seemed, and I would guess their age to be about 2 years old. I know full well what it’s like to carry a 2-year-old. My granddaughter is 2 and if you have carried a 2-year-old lately, you might sympathise with the chore that this young mother had at hand! It’s all she could do to keep them both in her arms and make it safely to the other side of the street. As she reached her destination, she had to put the toddlers down in the busy pharmacy parking lot. I really was frightened for her. I then noticed that she had dropped what looked like a lunch bag on the sidewalk…quickly asked myself do I call out to her and tell her? Or would the babies be in danger if I let her know? But what if the “lunch bag ” had all her money in it? My mind raced. I quickly rolled the window down and yelled “Excuse me mam, you dropped something”. There was gratitude in her eyes. Maybe it was the equivalent of her purse. All I know is that she scarcely noticed that it was missing from under her arm. She lipped “Thank you” to me. I smiled and drove away. My mind dove deep into what her situation might be. Was she homeless? Running? Hurting? And twins at a young age! My goodness. My heart melted for her. I feel quite sure that it would have been tough for her to have the “Attitude of Gratitude” right then in that situation, but she seemed to be thankful for my act of kindness and concern. Often it seems that people get wrapped up in what they don’t have or what injustice has been done to them. The next time I want to have a pity party…. I will remember that young mother’s face and the kind words “thank you” on her lips.

Ask yourself the question. “Do I have the Attitude of Gratitude?” What do you want in your life? You are a magnet…

Related Posts:

http://www.frogprop.com/gratitude-your-key-to-activating-the-law-of-attraction/

http://www.shiftoftheage.com/2009/11/26/the-transformative-power-gratitude/

http://brianbilbro.net/2011/06/13/develop-an-attitude-of-gratitude-and-give-thanks/

http://lovingmycircleoffriends.blogspot.com/2011/05/keep-attitude-of-gratitude.html

http://www.shortpoems.org/poems/gratitude_poems.html

3 responses to “Attitude of Gratitude! Do you have it?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Gratitude 62: Fellow Learners « Perpetual Gratitude: A Photographic Diary

  2. Pingback: Understanding Gratitude: Take the Time to Thank « Well-Being Inside and Out

  3. An attitude of gratitude comes with practice…

    A daily gratitude practice is so important to me, I created a deck of gratitude cards to keep me centred and in a grateful state of mind. I use it when life is good and I use it when I face challenges.

    My friends were so interested in increasing gratitude in their life that I created a website and I had some decks printed.

    Check them out here, http://www.gratitudeandsoulshine.com, and please follow me on Facebook here, http://www.facebook.com/GratitudeandSoulshine.

    Would love to know what your think about them and if we can promote a message of gratitude together.

    In Gratitude,

    Dana

Leave a Reply

