What does your silverware drawer say?   49 comments

Does you silverware drawer look like this?

One glimpse at our silverware drawer and you can see… we have a toddler in our house! It got me to thinking….

how much could a person tell about you simply by looking at your silverware drawer?

Lets play a game! Say something descriptive about each picture as you look at the following

silverware trays and see if it matches my assessment!

Could be fun to see if a total stranger might have the same quick interpretation as you….

I am imagining conversations going on in these kitchens….

 

1. “I like order but with these deep dividers even the

guys in the house could hit the right slot!”

Photo credit: http://backintimefurniture.com/page3653.asp

2. “Organization? Whose got time for that? By the way has

anybody seen my Grandma’s priceless butter knife?”

3. “Happiness is every type of gadget all nicely placed in

one drawer…and who cares if you really don’t know what they are for!”

4. “Okay, who asked Harold to put away the silverware

last night? It’s NOT even April Fools Day yet!”

Photo credit: http://domesticwrecks.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/silverwaredrawer

5. “Wow, I’ve got the neatest stack of forks and spoons…oh crap

one slipped off and now I have to start over. Well look quickly!”

Photo credit: http://feetoffthetable.blogspot.com/2010/11/thursday-goodness-cleaning-out.html

6. “Now I’ve just got the cutest darn silverware anyone could

ever want! Yeah it’s red… I like red!”

Photo credit: http://mimisuescottage.blogspot.com/2010/09/polka-dot-fun.html

7. “Honey, since we moved to this house I haven’t been able

to find the tool I use to strain the oil in the car…

could it be in this kitchen drawer? If not can I use this yellow thingy?

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/minimallyinvasivenj/4411847234/

8. “Ahhh Okay there are my Ginsu knives that I got with my paid order

of those matching set of 24 mini salt and pepper shakers. Gotta love late night TV!”

Photo credit: http://sellerby.com/good_12656_459718551-Beechwood-Expandable-Flatware-Cutlery-Drawer-Organizer.htm

9. “Mom, who cares if they are not in the right place,

at least I hit the drawer!”

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/45685497@N00/4260698416/in/photostream/

10. “What is this Knife Heaven?”

11. This one speaks for itself….and it’s profane! 🙂

Photo credit: http://www.casasugar.com/Poll-Silverware-Drawer-Organization-11264143

 

If you have a picky eater you might like these:

I simply could not write a post about silverware and not somehow include these adorable little things. I think the road equipment is hilarious. Backhoe and food…hummmm not sure about that. The “Air Fork One” is just too cute not to show! Little “wanna be pilots” all over the world will be happy at dinner time! I say whatever it takes. We have a picky eater and I’m always looking for clever ideas. That’s why we have some many toddler utensils!

 

49 responses to “What does your silverware drawer say?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mine looks like numbers 4 and 9. AWESOME post! Everyone has a silverware drawer! Im sold.

  2. Profane LOL My drawers are loosely organized. I organize them and someone else puts the dishes away and unorganizes them. THAT, my friend, is profane!

  3. Since I move every 2-3 years, my silverware drawer has looked like a few of these (depending on the house and cabinet space available).

    Cute blog. I found you on “Hop a Little Tuesday”– you were one of five featured.

    Kelli

    • Thank you Kelli! I have moved many times myself as a Navy wife. Sometimes it’s just good if the silverware hits the drawer at all.;-)
      Welcome to my blog… I look forward to reading and following your’s as well.

  4. I would have to say mine looks like 4 right now.

    I am following you now from “Hop a little Tuesday”

    http://avirtuousheart.blogspot.com/

  5. Hi new follower, following you through RSS and your business facebook page. Got your info from hop a little linky. Please follow back. My blog links are:
    Karimasblogs.blogspot.com
    and
    karimascrafts.com

    Look forward to reading your posts. Karima

  6. Stopping by from Tuesday Blog Hop.Following now:)

    http://myamazinglifeasamommyandwife.blogspot.com/

  7. Those utensils are too cool!!! My daughter is obsessed with trucks and would love them. How cute! Looking forward to hopping with you tomorrow.
    -The How To Mommy
    http://www.thehowtomommy.com

  8. I am following from the Tuesday Hop. I just love the gumby-ish utensils, how cute are they?? come visit if you’d like to:
    childhoodmyths.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Diane…I think those little utensils are just the cutest things I’ve seen in like forever! Thanks for following me. I love my Bloggy Mom friends!

  9. Mine is organized to an extent and has a bamboo silverware organizer…..so I guess it looks a little like me….green and in control, somewhat. 🙂 Cute idea.
    I’m visiting from the Hop Over Tusday hop. Feel free to visit me anytime: http://southernfriedgreenmom.blogspot.com/

  10. I LOVE the organization! I cant say all my drawers look like that, but I do have dividers in a lot of them! Love the dump truck/tractor silverware! too cute

    • Thanks for the nice comment Michelle. I love the little dump truck too! HAD to include it with my piece on silverware drawers! Thanks for reading and I hope to hear from you again real soon!
      Janiece

  11. I gave my daughter her own drawer at her level so that she can get her cups/plates/utensils – and put them away too!

    New follower from the hop, stop by when you get a chance!
    henry happened

    • What a great idea! I will have to figure out something like that for my Granddaughter as well! Thank you for the comment and the follow. I’m headed over to yours very soon. 😉

  12. So funny! This post is great! I am one of the hosts from Hop A Little Tuesday and thought I’d stop and say hi!

    • Thanks Stacie! I’m excited about the feature…that is really something else! I will stop by over at leatherberryfamily.blogspot.com and say hi to you too. Bloggy Moms are the BEST!

  13. This is great! If I had my way, mine would be super organized. But, it’s up to the other 6 people who live here to keep it that way, and it never happens 🙂 I found you from HopALittleTuesday over at Frogs, Snails, Puppydog Tails. I’m also a new follower, looking forward to browsing your blog. Feel free to check mine out also, http://www.justalittlecreativity.blogspot.com
    🙂

  14. I’m number 9. Who knew your silverware drawer could say so much about you!?

    I’m your newest follower via Hop a Little Tuesday!

    http://www.hello-tiffany.com

  15. Gorgeous silverware. Just popping by on Hop a Little Tuesday.

    Shirl x

  16. Hi!
    New follower via Networked blogs from the blog hop. I LOVE reading about organizing!!

    • Kristin…thank you for stopping by. I’m your newest follower and left a comment regarding your post about the Moms in Japan! My heart goes out to every single one of them! Thank you for that beautiful post and for the reminder!
      Come by often!

  17. I keep my kitchen drawers very organized but can’t keep my dresser neat. What gives? 🙂

    Nice to meet you – from Blog hop Tuesday.

    http://www.tiredofpreviews.com – I have a movie review blog that is a little different than other review sites – come check it out. Thanks

    • Katy,
      Thanks for the comment. I stopped by your blog and left you a comment too and joined! Yeah finally a movie review that I want to read! Stop by again soon!

  18. Well my silverware drawer has looked like a lot of these and now its kinda messy lol. Im here from hop a little tuesday. GREAT BLOG!

    • I LOVE your blog!!! I left you a long comment! Thank you for coming by for Blog Hop Tuesday! I’m a follower of yours now too and so look forward to your future post…our subjects are very similar. Check out my About Me page if you have not. Thanks again!!!

  19. Hi, I’m your newest follower! Stopping by from Hop a Little Tuesday 🙂

    Please follow me back at
    http://www.journeythroughmommyhood.blogspot.com

  20. I have to say it is pretty funny to see all the different silverware drawers and the different levels of organization.

    Glad I stopped here on Blog Hop Tuesday

  21. Great article! What fun to see the different interpretations. Gave me some ideas for the kitchen I am designing.

    Stopped by from Hop a Little Tuesday.

  22. I’m a new follower through your Networked Blog. I hopped on over from Hop a Little Tuesday!

    -Jen @babeecrafts
    http://babeecrafts.blogspot.com

    • Hi Jen,
      I will hop on over to your blog too…sorry it took a few days to get back to ya…but I’m glad to have you on board and look forward to hearing from you again real soon.

  23. Let me just say that I would not even let you put a picture of my silverware drawer on here! Great blog, though.

  24. Janice…thanks so much for your comment. Don’t worry I won’t ask to photograph anyone’s drawer 😉
    I’m glad to have you as a new follower and I will be checking out your shortly! Stay in touch and take care….have a great weekend to you and yours!

  25. Mine dont look like none of these its a little naked to tell you the truth but you can definately tell theirs a couple kids in the house with our baby spoons and medicine droppers Oh no sharp tools because Kira thinks shes so big to get her spoon for cereal in the mornings!!!! Its great to see the things that make children feel so big and smart!!!!

  26. I gave you a blogger award. Check out the link to my post to see the award.
    http://thenotsospecialmother.com/?p=58

Leave a Reply

