Holding Daddy’s Hand Forever   24 comments


From the minute we are born, our Daddys hold our hands. Mine did. My father passed away about a month ago. He had been very ill for quite a long while. His death was really was not a surprise and we had not had much face time in the past few years… living about 500 miles apart. I’ve had a question on my mind since the day that he took up residence in his heavenly home… “Can a little girl learn to let go of her daddy’s hand?” Even if she’s not so “little” anymore?

My father was a really an amazing example of what a “Daddy” looks like. He was in his 30s when I was born…about 13 years into my parents marriage. By all accounts, I was the “apple of his eye” and the only daughter… you know…”Daddy’s girl”! I have wonderful memories of this man but most of them are about turning points. Turning points in my life when a girl can only hope and pray that she has a daddy to go to. A Daddy to lean on. A Daddy to confide in. You know…someone to hold your hand.
When can a man who fathers a baby be considered a “daddy? My short answer is…. when he is committed to holding his daughter’s hand. At birth, at pre-school, at middle-school, at high school, at graduation, at your wedding day and ultimately in the autumn of his life. By many people’s standards my Daddy was a successful man….self-made…. and an absolute joy to be around (how many people can say that?) but my definition of successful is somewhat different from most. I ask “Was his life spent emulating good things to his children? Was he there in the times of tough decisions to counsel and help us through? Did he hold my hand every time I needed my Daddy? Resounding “YES HE DID”. Thank you Daddy for being the best father a girl could have ever dreamed of having. I know you will be holding my hand still today, tomorrow and forever!
I found some amazing pictures that describe he closeness of father and daughter…without any words. I am filled with thankfulness for the contribution.


<


Little girl and her father were crossing a bridge. The father was kind of scared so he asked his little daughter, "Sweetheart, please hold my hand so that you don't fall into the river." The little girl said, "No, Dad. You hold my hand." "What's the difference?" Asked the puzzled father. "There's a big difference," replied the little girl. "If I hold your hand and something happens to me, chances are that I may let your hand go. But if you hold my hand, I know for sure that no matter what happens, you will never let my hand go."
Author unknown-

In loving memory of John Todd- My Daddy. June 6, 1923- January 23, 2011

Posted February 21, 2011 by dsgnmom in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

24 responses to “Holding Daddy’s Hand Forever

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry for your loss. It is very hard. Thanks for sharing

    Rebecca Veneklasen
  2. What a beautiful tribute to your Daddy! Thanks for reminding me how blessed I am to have been born to an amaxing man/Father/Daddy too! Mr. Dave Shorter, Jr. Daddy, I miss you and love you soooooo much! Thanks for holding my hand and for being a great role model for everyone who knew and loved you! I only pray that I am half as good a Mom to my sons as you were to me and my brother and sister!

    • Loretta…. what a doll you are! I am glad my post had some good effect on you and helped you recall great memories of your sweet Daddy too. It’s in the sharing that we heal. Thanks for the note.

  3. Janiece, thanks for sharing your story. Our Dad’s are so very important to us and always will be. God is so lucky to have your Dad and my Mom with him having a good visit. Mama will be gone for 3 years on Sunday and I still miss her so much it hurts.
    We are eating fried chicken on Sunday in her memory!!
    Take care dear one.

    • Thank you sweet friend…. I appreciate your words. I will keep on writing and who knows, I might even write about us on that drill field in those 1972 fashions!!! hahaha Love ya!!

  4. So sorry you lost your dad. It sounds like you had such a warm and special relationship with him. He taught you how to be a parent, so through you and your children his legacy and memory will live on.

  5. Janiece,

    Your story touched my heart on so many levels…I still have my dad and love him very much…He was a great role model for showing how to provide for his family. My mom is still alive, too, so I feel very blessed to be able to have them meet my grandchild. They embody love from the forties…They were childhood sweethearts and still are going strong. Thank you for sharing your soul with us…

    • Angie… I really appreciate your sweet words. I am glad I have this medium as a vehicle to express my heartfelt thoughts. Thank you so much! Hug your parents for me.
      Janiece

  6. I lost my dad about a year ago. It is difficult to write about him. I saw him as a sweet, loving man. In some forms of reality I know he was quite the opposite. He never lived to his potential and ended up living in poverty. It’s so strange to love someone so much with a huge amount of faults. But, he was my daddy, and always will be my daddy and I his little girl. I remember the last time I sat in his lap. He was at the hospital in a wheel chair…..I am fifty, and still flirting with our unbreakable bond. I was so proud of our love and I wanted everyone to see it.

    • Rhonda,
      We see our Daddys through our filter…our filter of love. So regardless of what faults they had at the end of the day…if we had their love, I believe we are richer for it. Thank you for sharing your memories of your Daddy. I hope mine helped you in some small way!
      😉 J.

  7. This is such a sweet post–a very special tribute to your Daddy. Thank you for sharing your special memories.

    • Thank you so much! I am so glad you liked it and I appreciate you following my blog. I just posted your last entry to my Facebook….and I’m sure many of my friends will enjoy it as much as I did! Have a wonderful weekend!

  8. You pegged this one on the dot. Pepa (my grandfather) was exactly as you described him. Even though he wasn’t my father, he was my grandfather and I had the deepest love for him. He was at every turning point, special event, or just fun family affairs. When I think of the memories I have of him – I immediately feel warm inside because I think of all the LOVE that he poured into everyone he came in contact with. As I look at his picture, I am reminded of how very much I miss him every single day! I am so thankful for the memories that I have of Pepa but I am most thankful to have been loved by him. He too taught me how to love others whether it be family or friends – unselfishly, unconditionally, and with all of your heart. Thank you Niecie for posting this and paying tribute to one of the most wonderful human beings that I (or anyone for that matter) could ever want to meet or be associated with. His memory lives on…
    Michelle

    • Michelle,
      Thank you so much for the sweet words. I really appreciate you sharing your heart about my dad and your grandfather. He was an extraordinary man and we are blessed to have been a part of his life. It means so much to me to hear the beautiful memories of him and our time with him. We must remember as parents and grandparents that some day our precious loved ones will write tributes to us most likely. I pray that I’m doing as good a job as he did. I know I had great examples of wonderful parenting in both him and mom. Thank you again for the loving tribute that you wrote. He would be so pleased to know that he left this legacy in us and how dedicated we are to passing it on to his great-grandchildren. I love you. Your Aunt and much more.

  9. Hello from Bloggy Moms!

    http://www.ourbananamoments.com

    Marsha

  10. This is sooo well written and touching! He sounds like a wonderful man. I can’t imagine how hard it would be losing a parent. But this was an absolutely beautiful tribute and I bet he’s so proud of you.

  11. Elisa,
    Thank you so much for your sweet compliment. I am so blessed to have had him as a father. I have always known that and now even after his death, he lives on through me. We, as parents, must understand the power of that truth.
    Again I apreciate you and your encouraging words.
    Janiece

  12. Pingback: Daddy Issues « heartchasms

  13. Pingback: On the anniversary of my daddy’s death « heartchasms

  14. Pingback: Where were you on 9-11-2001? Ten years in retrospect. « Dsgnmom's Blog

  15. I only hope that one day, Stephi will say things like this about me! I may not be her biological dad, but I love her just the same. I hope she can see that. Your dad sounded like a really great guy, and a great father! You were lucky to be blessed with two great parents!

  16. Pingback: The Amazing Story of My Creation « Dsgnmom's Blog

  17. You made me tear up about my Daddy. I was also blessed to have a wonderful Father. Since I know he is “absent from the body, and present with the Lord,” I have never thought of him as “dead.” He’s simply living at a new address. I miss him, but look forward to his welcoming me home one day!

    dancingonthejourney

Leave a Reply

