Do you see the puzzle?   4 comments


Have you ever just given up hope on something happening? I mean really thrown in the towel? I recently learned a valuable lesson on why it is important NOT to give up!

I received a lovely handbag from my daughter as a Christmas gift. I will be the first to admit that she has a much nicer collection of purses than do I so I was borrowing one of her’s prior to receiving that gift. (Hmmmm maybe that is why I got that particular present…..but I digress).
The night that I transferred my belonging into the new purse was December 26th. It was a Sunday night. For some unexplained reason I decided to go up and organize all her purses as it was my intention to put the borrowed purse away properly. The Coach brand bags always come with a brown flannel drawstring dust-cover included. It looked like it had been many moons since any purses had been put away in their dust-covers. There was a pile of purses and a pile of dust-covers. Like I said for some unknown reason that night I felt an absolute burning desire to put every last purse away. After all, my daughter had been so kind in both lending her old purse and giving me a new one! I set out to achieve the task and one by one I placed each bag in its proper cover. Then there was one left… one large red Coach bag…and one large brown Coach dust-cover. But wait there was something different about this cover. I ran my hands down the outside edges of the cover as if I were pressing it with my fingers. I paused at the bottom right corner…there seemed to be something sharp in the corner. It poked through the fabric. It was the stud part of an earring…no wait it was two earrings that had been ganged together as to not become separated. I heart raced. Could it be? No! Maybe? I nearly tore the cover getting the earrings out and as I sat and cried looking at the precious symbols of the love I have for my daughter, I re-lived the past nine years since I purchased them…on the occasion of her 21st birthday! In a split second I retraced the sequence of events in my head….
It was mid January 2001. I set out to find her the most exquisite diamond earrings I could afford. They were going to be a very special birthday gift for my only child’s twenty-first birthday. I found them…they were square cut…brilliant… and expensive. With all the checks in the box, I told the salesperson “Wrap it up!”. She loved them and wore them on very special occasions. When we moved to Tennessee from California about 6 years ago, she placed them in her safe jewelry place and there they would stay until the next special occasion. One such time after wearing them, she could not put her hands on them. Needless to say, she was very upset…but knowing me as well as she does, she was reluctant to tell me that they were missing. For those who have read the blog written in memory of Marzi- the dog with nine lives, you might recall that she was fond of eating jewelry! When she finally told me that they could not be located…we assumed that Marzi had eaten them. So we have been working on that assumption for about five years. I was upset as my daughter expected me to be, and yes, I did remind her of the loss occasionally. That is why with the discover of the earrings in the bottom right corner of the dust-cover of the large red Coach bag…..I let out a yell of excitement. I bound down the stairs like a 15-year-old going on her first date! I shared the wonderful news of this discovery…….and what makes this all so much more amazing is this next part!
A few years ago my daughter was between jobs and wanted to pick up a little extra money. She decided to take some of her extra bags to a consignment store. Imagine how bummed out she was when she was told by the clerk “Look you even have the original dust-cover. I’m sure they are authentic but because there are so many knock-offs, we cannot take these bags”. She really did not understand why it was important that the consignment store refuse to buy that large red Coach bag in its original dust-cover. She didn’t see the puzzle pieces but God did. If she had sold the bag for pennies on the dollar, she would have been happy for that moment and sad for life without the special 21st birthday gift. We have moved no less than 5 times since the earrings had gone missing…there were numerous times for them to be lost but that was not part of the plan!

It occurred to me as I wrote this story….Now we both sees all the puzzle pieces and they are in perfect order. I am amazed at how all things work together for the best. God’s plan! We just cannot always see the finished puzzle. Did I finally see this puzzle in it’s completed form? You bet I did…. on the night of December 26, 2010.

dsgnmom's qr code

Posted February 10, 2011 by dsgnmom in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

4 responses to “Do you see the puzzle?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Do you see the puzzle? « Dsgnmom's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Thank you for sharing…what a wonderful story! And a great reminder of how God is working for our good, even though we can’t see it or make sense of some of the situations He has us in! It’s especially encouraging to me, too, since I’m in a “puzzling” season of life right now and waiting on the Lord for guidance and direction.

  3. I misplaced my diamond necklace in June. This post feels like confirmation that God is in control, and that I will find it–or not–in his timing! I have tried to turn it over to Him, and not worry if it’s been stolen, vacuumed up, or fallen in the trash somewhere. I wore it to a wedding, thought I put it back in the box, but when I opened the box to wear it, it was not there. Thanks for writing your story!

    dancingonthejourney

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

